Official Visit from Mr.Zheng Yao,Vice-secretary of The Organizing Committee of 19th Asian Games Hangzhou 2022 Director of Sport Bureau of Zhejiang Province to NOC

January 5, 2024

A delegation of sports representatives from Zhejiang Province, China, paid a gracious visit to officials of the Nepal Olympic Committee in Kathmandu on Friday. The meeting, held at the NOC office Satdobato, focused on fostering collaboration and enhancing cooperation between them. Notably, Hangzhou, the main city of Zhejiang, recently hosted the successful Asian Games.

During the meeting, NOC President Jeevan Ram Shrestha conveyed his appreciation for the organization of the Asian Games, emphasizing China's longstanding support for the development of Nepalese sports. Mr. Zheng, the head of the Chinese delegation, expressed gratitude to Nepal for its enthusiastic participation in the Asian Games.

The Hangzhou Asian Games, recognized as the world's largest sports festival in terms of participation, achieved remarkable success. Nepal secured one silver and one bronze medal in the competition.

He proposed the exchange of players for both competition and training, expressing readiness to promote and develop dragon-boat sports in Nepal. He also told to support/ collaborate for different types of water sports.

In addition to Mr. Zheng Yao, the Chinese delegation included Meng Gualiang, the Dean of Zhejiang College of Sports; He Jijun, Secretary of the Party Leadership Group of Jinhua Municipa Bureau of Sports; Hong Yeonghua, Director of Lisui Sports Development Service Center; Tong Yuecong, Deputy Director of the Office of Zhejiang College of Sports and Hong Bingzin, Teaching Secregtary of Physical Education Department of Zhejiang College of Sports/Interpreter. The key officials of the Nepal Olympic Committee were also present at this significant occasion. The discussion not only highlighted successful past collaborations but also paved the way for future partnerships in the realm of sports development between the two regions.

In the program representing NOC the Vice President’s of NOC Mr. Chaturananda Rajvaidya, Ms. Jyoti Rana, Mr. Sunil Kumar Shrestha along with Secretary General of NOC Mr. Nilendra Raj Shrestha and Deputy Secretary of NOC Mr. Pitamber Timshina were present.

Previous Next