The Official Website of Nepal Olympic Committee

April 12, 2018, Wednusday

Nepal Olympic Committee Organized the 13th edition of Asian Games Fun Run, 2018 in coordination with Olympic Committee of Asia (OCA) and Indonesia Asia Games 2018 Organizing Committee (INASGOC). This is the first time that Nepal organized this program. The Fun Run is aimed to spread awareness about the Asian Games 2018 and the health benefit of sports. 12th edition of Asian Games Fun Run was organized in Bhutan and now 14th will be organized in Oman.
The program was inaugurated by our Chief Guest President of NOC/ Member of Parliament Honorable Jeevan Ram Shrestha by handing over the Olympic Torch to Olympian Mr. Deepak Bista who was also our 2 times Asian Games Medalist. Our Special Guest Mr. Keshab Kumar Bista, Member Secretary of National Sports Council gave his best wishes to the athletes who are going to participate in the Indonesian Asian Games 2018 and our Chief Guest Honorable Shrestha thanked our Guests Mr. Jeans Zhou Jian, Media Manager (OCA), Mr. Wissam Trkmani, Secretary to the OCA President and Ms. Ratna Irsana, Vice Director of media & public Relations at INASGOC and wished the success of Asian Games 2018 slated at Palembang and Jakarta.
The total route was 7 Km and there was a remarkable number of participants from 27 National Federation, Nepal Army, Armed Police, Nepal Police Force and General Public. There were approximately 1300 participants.
At the end of the program, Secretary General of NOC Mr. Lama Tendi Sherpa congratulated the entire participant for completing the event successfully. Our 4 Asian Games medalist were honored with the Fun Run medals:
  1. Taekwondo athlete Mr. Deepak Bista a Bronze medalist in 2002 Busan, South Korea  and 2006 Doha
  2. Boxing athlete Mr. Deepak Maharjan a Bronze mdalist in 2010, Guyanzhou, China
  3. Taekwondo Athlete Ms. Ayusha Shakya a Bronze medalist in 2006, Doha
  4. Taekwondo Athlete Ms. Manita Shahi a Bronze medalist in 2006, Doha
There was a lucky draw program where 13 males and 13 females were also provided with Fun Run medals and 6 mascots were distributed to other lucky winners.