The Official Website of Nepal Olympic Committee

Kathmandu- 4 December 2014
NOC/Nepal call the Press Meet and handover the Olympic Scholarship certificate for awarded Athletes and officially informed all the Association, Sports Journalist, Media and NFs Members and EB Members of NOC about the Olympic Scholarship for Athletes Rio 2016 at Olympic Building- Satdobato.
Olympic Solidarity of IOC has rewarded an Olympic Scholarship for Athletes-Rio 2016 to following six Nepalese Athletes of five disciplines:
  1. Ms. Sangita Khadka               (Athletics)
  2. Ms. Saraswati Rana               ( Boxing)
  3. Ms. Phupu Lamu Khatri        ( Judo)
  4. Ms. Sofia Shah                       ( Swimming)
  5. Mr. Sirish Gurung                  ( Swimming)
  6. Ms. Nisha Rawal                    (Taekwondo)
In accordance to the agreement, each scholarship holder Athletes will receive USD 670 per month for their training program. The duration of scholarship start from 1 January 2015 to May 2016.
The selection of the applicant to the Olympic Scholarship for Athletes-Rio 2016 has been done through the recommendation of the respective Associations and International records of the Athletes.
The Nepalese Athlete has been granted such scholarship by Olympic Solidarity from the last couple of Olympic Games. Such as: Mr. Deepak Bista (Taekwondo), Ms. Manita Shahi (Taekwondo), Ayasha Shakya (Taekwondo) and Mr. Arjun Basnet (Athletics) have been rewarded as scholarship in the Beijing Olympic Games 2006.